Lambertville is the only city in Hunterdon County, and one of the smallest cities in the United States. It is governed within the Faulkner Act (formally known as the Optional Municipal Charter Law) under the Small Municipality form of government (Plan C), which is available only for municipalities with a population of under 12,000, and was implemented in Lambertville by direct petition as of January 1, 1983. The government consists of a Mayor and a four-member City Council, with all positions elected at-large in partisan elections. A Mayor is elected directly by the voters to a three-year term of office. Council members serve a term of three years, which are staggered so that two seats come up for election two out of a three-year cycle, with the mayoral election the third year.

The Mayor exercises executive power of the municipality. The Mayor presides over Council with voice and vote, but has no veto powers; Exercises executive power of the municipality; Appoints Council committees; Appoints municipal clerk, attorney, tax assessor, tax collector and the treasurer, all with Council confirmation. The Council exercises legislative power of the municipality and also approves Mayor's appointees for municipal clerk, attorney, tax assessor, tax collector and treasurer.

City Council Meetings are held the First Tuesday and Third Thursday of the month beginning at 7:00 p.m. at the Phillip L. Pittore Justice Center, 25 South Union Street, Lambertville, unless otherwise noted. For information about addressing the city government during a meeting, please visit: Addressing the Council